National scholarship and grant competitions

More than $1 million is awarded each biennium to outstanding Phi Kappa Phi members and chapters through the Society's various awards competitions: the graduate Fellowship, Dissertation Award, Study Abroad Grants, Literacy Grants, and Love of Learning awards.

This year, Phi Kappa Phi will award 6 Fellowships of $15,000 each and 51 Fellowships of $5,000 each to members entering the first year of graduate or professional study. Please note that each chapter of Phi Kappa Phi is permitted to submit only one nominee for the graduate fellowships offered by the national organization.  The Chapter awards $500 to its nominee.

Further details, eligibility requirements and application forms for all national awards may be obtained under the Project Grants and Awards section at Please note the deadlines for all applications are listed on our 2017 Calendar.

National Fellowship Recipients from UM

In 2015, Sarah Ann Knutson, our third consecutive winner, received a $5000 national fellowship. Read more about Sarah on our News page at . Sarah is currently studying Archaeology and History at Cambridge University in England.

In 2014, Xiao Wang received a $5,000 national fellowship, one of only 51 at this level awarded annually. See more about Xiao on our News page at Xiao is currently studying medicine at Johns Hopkins University.

In 2013, Connie Shi became the first University of Michigan student to receive a prestigious $15,000 Marcus Urann national fellowship.  Named for the founder of Phi Kappa Phi, there are only six fellowships at this level awarded annually.  See more about Connie on our News page at  Connie is currently studying medicine at Harvard University.

In 2011, U-M student Samuel Burns received a $5,000 national fellowship.

In 2010, U-M student Kevin A. Callender received a $5,000 national fellowship.

Other national fellowship winners who have received graduate degrees from the University of Michigan are:

Javier Orman, 2007 Fellowship winner, Music

James Reinhart, 2006 Fellowship winner, Medicine

Kevin Haworth, 2003 Fellowship winner,  Applied Physics